The last 14 months have been difficult for many Georgians. When state shutdowns happened and businesses faced operating restrictions during the pandemic, the economy suffered. Many people lost jobs. You might have been one of them. To cut expenses, you decided to drop your car insurance. Now, you just hope can avoid a traffic violation or becoming involved in an accident.
But what will happen if police discover you are driving without insurance? What penalties will you face?
Driving without insurance in Georgia
Here are the penalties for driving without insurance in Georgia:
- You will face misdemeanor criminal charges.
- You will have to pay a fine of $200 to $1,000.
- You will lose your driver’s license for 60 to 90 days.
If you are a repeat offender, you could face a jail sentence. If you become involved in an accident and you are at fault for the crash, you could face a civil lawsuit.
You also can face penalties if you have a lapse in insurance. For example, if your insurance lapsed recently, you have 30 days to prove you now have up-to-date coverage. Yet, if your insurance has lapsed for even 10 days, you will have to pay a $25 fee. If you can’t provide insurance after a 30-day period for lapsed coverage, your vehicle registration will be suspended. Police also can charge you with a misdemeanor if you are driving a vehicle with a suspended registration.
When cited for driving without insurance or registration
If police cite you for driving without insurance or without a vehicle registration, you should consult a criminal defense attorney. An attorney can help you work to lessen the charges you face and help pursue the best possible outcome in your case.