Having a license ensures you have the ability to go to work, school or even visit friends. You can drive yourself where you need to be. But if you face charges for driving on a suspended license, you may see stiff punishments.
Georgia may suspend your license for several different reasons. But once the court suspends it, they expect you to stay away from the driver’s seat. Here are some of the punishments you can face after a conviction for driving on a suspended license:
- Extra fines – A first conviction can mean a fine between $500 and $1,000. This payment is on top of any penalties you originally paid for your original license suspension. A second or third conviction can leave you with fines up to $5,000.
- Jail time – A judge can order you to sit in jail for at least two days. But you can face time up to a full year. A third conviction is a felony and can mean a maximum of five years behind bars.
- Extra suspension – After the judge rules to convict you, the court adds six months to your license suspension.
- License revocation – If you have multiple convictions, you may lose your license.
Fighting charges may help you keep driving
Georgia takes license suspension seriously. If you receive a conviction, you may find yourself unable to get to work. And with all the extra fines, you may find yourself running out of money.
However, you may be able to fight a conviction. If you can reduce the charges, you might just have to stick with your original suspension. You can even get a hardship license that lets you drive to work.
Despite the charges, you may be able to get your license back.